Who can register a .EU domain?

A .EU domain can be registered from an organization or a company based in the European Union, Iceland, Liechtenstein or Norway.

For individuals who wish to register a .EU domain, changes have been made by Eurid’s registry.
Until October 19th 2019, in order for an individual to register a .EU domain, their country of residence had to be in the EU, Iceland, Liechtenstein, or Norway.

From now on, citizens with an EU nationality and a non-E.U country of residence are allowed to register .EU domains by filling in an additional field with their country of nationality.

The countries of nationality are the following: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Germany, Denmark, Estonia, Spain, Finland, France, Greece, Croatia, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Latvia, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Sweden, Slovenia, Slovakia.

Article Number: 140
Posted: Fri, Jul 20, 2012 2:26 PM
Last Updated: Wed, Dec 16, 2020 2:00 PM

Online URL: /support/kb/article/who-can-register-a-eu-domain-140.html